Sweetest love?

How could you just depart,

not ever a farewell kiss

My salty tears taste divine

as they roll onto my lips

Shaking in my hands the last words you scribbled down

The words melt, leaving tear stained mars,

as I tear your note into strips.

I’ve read these lines a million times,

wrote them two million before

But returning is not in the bargain,

I’ve been deserted again!

When we met I knew it was not forever,

but why did you leave so soon

I thought maybe you’d have been different,

not another role, another game.

What do I do with the letters you wrote,

do I throw them away

Do I read them until I’ve learnt them,

then burn my heart instead?

Then there is your ghost that haunts me,

every night and every day

Even if it abandoned me, that won’t work,

you live inside my head.

Who’ll replace these kisses you gave me,

who will hole me when I am so alone

What will I do with the space beside me,

the empty space in my room?

How can I replace the lover you were to me,

you loved me so well

The guilt will never leave me,

of what I destroyed inside my womb.

No sweet love I won’t forget you,

not until you’re dying day

But I will learn to live without you,

right now that’s all I can do

Every time you see the sun set,

every time you smell the rain

May they all remind you,

that this love for you was always true.

Remain with me if only in my thoughts,

yes there you will always stay

I will not scare when your spirit moves over me,

it will be my delight

We will always be together inside my heart,

my soul, my head

You will forever love me, if only in my dreams,

as I lay inside your bed tonight.

5 Comments

  1. so much pain in these words..the longing to be together again…the not understanding..masterfully penned

  2. Hello..thank you for the ‘like’..I read your poem well..feeling it..have experienced similar..One day, if you are lucky as I was..you will meet someone..you will know..as they know..there is no point to leaving..no one is stopping them..for they will be loved no matter what they do..that is yours..the strength of your love..without expectation..qualified only by your own dignity..:-)..Peace Tony

Leave a Reply

