X…Marks The Spot!

Other girls

get diamond rings

furs

and so much more.

I recall the Old Bill

banging down our door.

Turkey, sprouts and gravy

pasted on the wall.

As your plate

flew pass my head

you stumbled

drunk

you’d fall.

Other girls have memories

of sweetest Xmas past.

All I have is wondering

how long your good will shall last.

New Year’s resolution

promises of change

so often heard.

Perhaps I should have common sense

or not believe a word.

Leaving is an option

but let’s face what is real.

I can’t remove you from

under my skin

No matter how I feel.

So merry Xmas baby

bring on all your rage

As this saga ends

I turn the final page.

10 Comments

  1. I nominated you for the 7×7 Link Award. Check out my blog for details.

  2. I hope you really are ending the chapter of being abused in the name of love, truly cutting your ties with any man who hurts you in any way, and starting fresh in 2012. You’ll need support and a strong will to see you through mixed feelings (feeling loneliness and feeling guilt at not helping him with his issues, while missing the good times and maybe even the tender pain and moral clarity of martyrdom) to the better life ahead. Good luck. Looking forward to seeing what’s written on the later pages.

    • Thanks for your concern Greg.
      Yet as a poet, I sometimes become the voice for those who can not say what they truly feel. Therefore, I write about things I’ve witnessed, and heard, so others, who need identification, can perhaps find the inner strength to walk away from a situation, knowing that someone understands what they are going through. I am the one who writes about the things no-one wants to talk about, sometimes these issues are personal and at other times not. Your message is heartfelt, and hope it can help others who may read this poem. :~}

  3. Oh my! I’m not sure if this is autobiographical or not, but I speak from experience when I say it is indeed possible to remove that sort of person from under one’s skin. Visceral, powerful stuff. I look forward to seeing what else you have to say.

    And thanks for subscribing to my blog! How did you find it?

  4. Wow… reminds me of how I grew up with alcoholics parents. Very deep, painful, emotional.
    Glad you found me, as now I found you. 🙂

    • Right back at you bipolarmuse, you page is beautifully done. If you are interested I am writing a story of the perils of addition on thebutterflywake page. Nice to meet you :~}

Leave a Reply

