Bloody Valentine!

Woke

or did I?

Was I already awake?

It was morning

it may have been morning!

Unable to tell 

how long I’d been sleeping

What you left 

was not worth keeping.

I couldn’t move

my body numb

Black and blue 

from your fist kiss

How much love

to bash in my head?

Another day

I’ll have to hide in bed

My face hurts

so swollen

I think my jaw

is broken.

No-one can see me 

in this state

They’ll misread your love

as pure hate.

Sober 

you are different 

so gentle,

so kind.

You beg for forgiveness

and promise 

last time.

You’re so remorseful

with tears 

in your eyes.

Just like the last time

I believe your lies.

Yet, this time is different

quite different

you see.

When you leave.

go off to work today

I’ll take my reprieve. 

The only solution 

a sacrifice

I’ll take my own life.

To save myself

and no longer

be 

your wife!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

