Soldier’s War

 

An explosion

dust filled

mouth

blood tastes

sweeter

when disguised

with the

sand

of

time

SHOOT

a glance

gaze meets

child’s

frightened

perplexed

eyes

SHOOT

he

reminds me

of my

son

DO NOT

ASSUME

KILL

terrorist

split

second

my humanity

flashes before

my

war

torn

eyes

PULL TRIGGER

I watch

as an

array of

silver

bullets

rain

holes

into

small

body

falls

dust

DEATH

toys

boys

play with

toys

a vice

crushes

my mind

as the

blood

culling

cries

bounce against

my hollow

skull

isolation

try not

to bond

with fellow

platoon

collecting

body parts

remains less

disturbing

when

no name

is attached

to them

fearful

not of

death

but

surviving

this war

nightmares

pain

nightmares

insane

nightmares

rain is

falling

hide the

shame

hero to

zero

man into

beast

no medal

will remove

my utter

distaste

PTSD

ADDICTION

HOMELESSNESS

MENTAL HEALTH

REWARDS

big boys

do not

cry

lies

fabrication

lonely

separation

from

the man

I used

to

be

my son

how will

he ever

be proud

of

me

 

MM c 2015

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

