Ancestry Sin

Every time

an echo

of racism

is heard

within

want to

scream at

my forefathers

tired of

carrying their

sin

each

meeting

with a

new

being

a judgement

resides

deep

within

shocked

horrified

at the

measurement

created

due to

the colour

of their

skin

each weary

moment

fear

rattles

inside

my belly

cursing

those

wasted hours

believing the

propaganda

on the

telly

clutching my

handbag

more tightly

disillusion

recreated

thief

projected

onto the

young man

deeply instilled

brainwashed

misplaced

hatred

assumptions

formed inside

dogmatic

mind

he wears

his faith

as a weapon

attached to

himself

what

the

f**k

am I

blind?

he is

a child

believing in

God

yet

my eyes

reflect an

imagine

those

ingested

lies

poured into

my memory

a slipstream

of misguided

din

no longer

to carry

this ignorant

chatter

passed down

my ancestors’

sin

each time

a reactionary

voice

recreates

false

beliefs

boldly

challenging

them

recognise this

misplaced

anger

redirected

to the

source

my forefathers

may still

wear this

sin

well I

refused to

continue

this

blood line

as

their message

is wearing

thin.

 

MM C2015

Leave a Reply

