Children’s Future

If our children’s

future is in my

hands then

I shall not be an

older generation

constantly

blaming the youth

I will refrain

from constant

shouting

forced down

the self-fulfilling prophecy

I wore with

disgrace

as my failure

is too bitter

a pill

to shallow

I am

declining

a need to

denounce their

creativity as

just a waste of space

nor tell them

they are useless

with a slap

across the face

as it would be

a contradiction

if I were

to inject

my insecurities

inabilities

and

lack of success

thus dumping it

on a child’s

head whilst

blaming them

for my mess

for the chaos

my generation

created by

preventing

education

stealing away

health systems

removing

youth centres

restricting

development

no, it is

my responsibility

to protect not

project my

wounding onto

an innocent

child

as my

unresolved anger

is spilt

all over the

place

as I choke

on my own

disappointment

children need

affirmations

encouragement

understanding

love

and to be

treated with

grace

 

MM c2015

Leave a Reply

